Mental Illness & Love

Love is difficult when you’re stable. But when you’re unstable, it’s a struggle. And when you’re both unstable? What a nightmare! It’s not impossible; it requires a lot of hardwork, but loving somebody and being loved when you’re unstable is definitely 100% possible. And I can say that with absolute confidence because I have bipolar and love (and am loved) by somebody with depression.

We met during my second trip to the psychiatric ward, (romantic, right?!). I was admitted for feelings of suicidal ideation. I was absolutely miserable. I didn’t want treatment. I planned to end things as soon as I was released. But then I met somebody. He was a little older, 24 at the time. He was there for the same reason as I was. Immediately I noticed how good-looking he was. I was praying to whatever gods that existed that he would talk to me because I was WAY too shy to talk to him. And he did. He invited me to join him and a few others in a intense game of Jenga. Then I realized that he was highly flirtatious, out-going, and made me laugh for the first time in months.

We became best friends in the hospital. And, despite the staff’s warnings, we left the hospital around the same time and immediately began to hangout. We were attached at the hip and did everything together. But I fell for him more quickly than I ever thought even possible. It wasn’t long before I realized that I was in love. He said that he had feelings for me, but seeing as it was his last relationship that led him to the hospital, he wasn’t ready for a relationship.

I was completely convinced that I had no chance with him. I couldn’t accept that he just wasn’t ready. My low self-esteem told me that he just didn’t want me. And because of it I fell into a wicked depressive episode.

But he slept over all the time. Sleepovers were totally normal for us. And on July 30th, 2014 he looked at me and with sincerity in his eyes told me that he loved me. Ever since then we’ve been a couple.

In the short time we’ve been dating our relationship has definitely been tumultuous. Between his depression and my mood instability we run into plenty of problems. Our biggest one being me finding strength. I have never had any strength. I always relied on others to give me their support. And my boyfriend gives me all the support that he can. He’s my rock. He’ll do anything to see me happy. But often times he needs me to be his rock. And that’s something I just don’t know how to do. It’s something that I’m working on.

The point to this rambling is that love is entirely possible whether one or both of you have a psychiatric diagnosis. I encourage you all to be understanding of other’s problems and supportive, and expect the same from them. You need to be able to stand on your own, but your partner should understand your problems and be there for you when they become too much.

What are some of your love stories?

Leave a comment